Welcome to the Optibrium Community

Forgot login?
Register

Forum

Search Forum

Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Tautomeric form(s) in training set
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
This forum is for everything else!
Tautomeric form(s) in training set
alexisparenty
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
I am using the “Check for Duplicates“ functionality of StarDrop to curate my dataset from duplicates after a merge. I have noticed that Stardrop does not recognize tautomeric forms (as far as StarDrop is concerned, a pair of tautomers are wrongly assumed to be two different molecules). I can remove the tautomers using other tools, such as Knime, it’s not a problem… My question is: Should I actually remove them?!

Could my model actually get better if I train it with all possible tautomeric forms? Sorry if this is a naïve question! I am new to this field, but I have a feeling that I should remove the extra tautomeric form(s) of the same molecule since the model builder only uses in its learning algorithm physicochemical descriptors that are independent of the structural representation that human use… Is that right? It hurts my eyes to see most ketones in their enolic forms, but does it matter for a computer?!

If tautomeric forms are treated in the same way by the model, I think they should be removed as they would bias the calculation. Is that correct?
Many thanks,
Alexis

The administrator has disabled public write access.
Re:Tautomeric form(s) in training set
huntpe1
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Dear Alexis,

I saw your question and I thought I would take the opportunity to carry on the conversations we were having at Novartis before I left.